loading Loading...
add chat to your website

How to Add and Publish a Page

ProProfs allows you to add pages to your site in an easy and intuitive way.


How to Add a Page

To add a new page to your site, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your ProProfs account.
  2. Click the New Page button in the toolbar.
  3. Fill in the needed information and enter the page's content (as described below).
  4. When you are ready, click Save. This will save the page as a draft.
  5. Close the page when you are done.

Once a page has been added, it can be organized in your table of contents by dragging and dropping the page at the desired location. Learn about the table of contents.

Page Toolbar

The toolbar provides options that relate to the page.

  • Save - This will save the page and keep the page open. When the page is saving, you will see a spinning icon over the Save button. Once the save is complete, the Save button will reappear.
  • Cancel - Clicking Cancel will cancel the addition of a new page. If you have made changes to an existing page, you will be prompted to save. If you have already saved, Cancel will close the page.
  • Delete - This will delete the current page. A message will appear asking you to confirm that you want to delete the page. Deleted pages are moved to the trash can.

Description of Page Fields

When adding or editing pages, the screen is organized in two sections. The top section shows the page details, and the bottom section is the content editor.


The page details in the top section include the following:

  • Type - This option is used to indicate what type of page it is. There are two types of pages: (1) text and (2) video. Text pages are pages that contain text and regular content. Video pages are pages that contain mostly videos and screencasts. There is no difference between the two, other than the icon that displays in the table of contents and in the search results. The default will be a Text page.
  • Collect Feedback - If you have a subscription plan that includes user feedback, then you can select whether a page should collect feedback. User feedback will allow your end users to indicate if a page was helpful or not and to submit a comment that will be emailed to you. If you want to collect feedback for the page, click the Collect Reader Feedback check box.
  • Page Title - This is the title of the page. This will also be the web browser's page title. You can use any phrases, sentences, or words. Avoid using special characters. Also, avoid using the same page title twice as this may cause problems with search results.
  • URL - This is the page's URL. The URL is automatically populated when you enter a page title. Any commas, quotes, apostrophes, and other non-HTML characters are removed, and a dash is inserted between each word. For example, the page title "How to change your password" will result in the URL "how-to-change-your-password" in order to be web-friendly. You can manually change the URL by clicking on the edit link next to the URL.

More settings

Clicking on the More settings link will load an overlay window with additional page settings.

  • Author - A list of all authors so that you can select one to attribute as the page author. This section only shows if you have multiple active users. (Read how to view your users.)
  • Show page in table of contents - This option determines if the page will show in the table of contents. The Show page in table of contents check box is checked by default. If you don't want the page to appear in the table of contents, uncheck the check box and the page will immediately be removed from the table of contents. If you recheck the check box, the table of contents will list the page in the same location where it was before it was unchecked.
  • Default page to be included in the PDF - This option determines if a page is included in the PDF export by default. To include a page in the PDF export, check mark this option. To hide a page from the PDF export, uncheck this option.
  • Show page in search results - This option determines if a page is searchable and gets returned in the search results. To include the page in search, check mark this option. If this option is checked, you may also enter in keywords such as "password, password reset, lost password, forgot password" that the system will use when performing a search. To remove and hide a page from the search results, uncheck the check box.
  • Search engines - This section includes two options. Select the Allow page to be crawled by search engines if you want the page indexed by search engines. The textbox is for meta description which describes what the page is all about. This is usually included in the search result entries together with the title. This shows only when SEO is enabled for the site.
  • Show page in Index.  This option determines if the page will show in the index. The index will contain a list of indexed pages. You can choose to include the page in the index and may specify an index name. Use a comma to indent and group. For example, “Passwords, How to reset” would be grouped under “Passwords.” Each row you add will be a new entry in the index. The index will list the pages in alphabetical order (ABC). Unchecking this check box will remove the page from the index. You can also hide the entire index.

Publishing a Page

The publishing section contains options to control the status of a page. A draft page is only viewable to logged in users. The draft status is for pages that are saved, but are not ready to be published.  A published page is viewable to your end users. Note: The ability to publish pages depends on the user's role.

 

You can also disable end users from copying the text on a published page. You can enable this feature on the Settings page, as shown in the image below.

When you are ready to publish a page, click the Publish button. This will immediately publish the page and store a copy in the Publish history.

Updating a published page

One key feature of ProProfs is the ability to edit and update a live published page without affecting what end users see.  For example, let's say you have a page that describes how to create a widget and your company is preparing to update to a new design. You can start updating the page content without affecting the current published page.

Once you make updates to a published page and click Save, the system will store the changes as a working draft. You will also see a message indicating that there are unpublished changes. When you are ready to update the live published page, click Update. This will update the published page from your working draft.

 

Have several pages you want to update? You can use the bulk update/publish feature in the view all pages section.

You can unpublish a page at any time by clicking the Unpublish link. Clicking this link will unpublish and change the page back to a draft.

Revision history

Each time you save or publish a page, the system will store a copy of it in the Revision history. The revision history allows you to look back at the recent changes you’ve made and revert to an earlier version if necessary.

Content Editor

The editor is the blank box where you enter your content, links, images, tables, etc. for the page. You can also access the HTML of the page.

View the complete guide for using the Editor.

Tips

Save your page often.
When creating a new page it is a good idea to save the page frequently. Anything can happen to your computer or the internet and you don't want to lose any of your work.

Format your content.
Use the editor's styles and formatting drop-down menus to style your content.

Use the HTML view.
You don't have to use the HTML view, but sometimes it gives you added control over your page.

Spell-check.
Don't forget to use the built-in spell-checker. You can even enable the Spell Check As You Type feature, which will spell-check as you go.

 

Use pictures and videos.

Pictures and videos really help explain concepts and guide users.


 
Also see Edit or Delete Page.