loading Loading...
add chat to your website

Making a Site Private

If you do not want your ProProfs site to be visible to the general public, you can restrict access to it by using the private site feature. Then anyone who navigates directly to your site’s URL would not be able to view your ProProfs site. 

 

A user in ProProfs is someone that can log in and author help pages, administer the application, add content, and more. What actions ProProfs users are able to perform depends on their role. People who read your documentation logged-out (such as your customers) are called end users.

 

ProProfs does not have a user management system for your end users. Rather you can use your own authentication/login system via Single Sign-On (SSO) to authenticate your end users.


Enable Private Sites

If you do not want your ProProfs site to be visible to the general public, you can restrict access to it by using the Private site feature. Then anyone who navigates directly to your site’s URL would not be able to view your ProProfs site. You can set it up to redirect end users to another URL.

 

Step1. Log in to your account (as an Administrator) and click Settings.

 

Step2. Click Private Sites.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step3. Select the site which you want to make private from the list of sites.

 

 

Step4. Enable private sites by clicking on the toggle button (refer to the image below).

 

 

Some pointers:

  • API Key - Use API key when you want multiple private sites to be accessible to your users.
  • Site Key - Use Site Key to prevent unauthorized access of your site. 
  • Contextual Help > Allow public view access to contextual help  - You have the option to make the contextual tools accessible for logged out users even if Privacy is enabled for the site. 
  • Redirect URL - This is the URL the end user will be redirected to when trying to access your ProProfs site directly. It could be your web application's login page, for example, http://myapp.com/login. If you enable this, then anyone trying to view your site will be redirected to your login page.
  • Single Sign On - Enable single sign on for your site. 
  • Save - Click Save to save the settings.
  • Cancel - Click Cancel to return to the Settings page without saving these settings.