Roles & Permissions

 

Roles & permissions give your company the ability to control and assign what users can and cannot do in ProProfs. You can assign every user in ProProfs a role when you add them.

 

Learn more about adding users.

 

Assigning different roles lets you:

 

  1. Assess user performance based on tasks assigned

  2. Streamline the workflow

 

ProProfs has these pre-defined roles:

  • Administrator - Administrators have access and can make changes to all features and settings.

  • Editor - Editors can publish and manage pages but cannot change the settings.

  • Contributor - Contributors can write or edit pages but cannot delete or publish them. Neither can they access the settings.

  • Viewer - Viewers can only view the content, similar to logged-out users. This role is designed for private sites.

  • Group Admin - Group administrators can only view the users added to their group. They can view their roles and status but cannot perform any actions.

 

Each role can perform a particular set of tasks, called 'Permissions.'

 

Here's the permissions chart for each role:

 

Permissions Administrator Editor Contributor Group Admin
       

Add New Folders

 

Delete folders

 

Edit Folders

 

Add Pages

Edit Pages

Publish Pages

 

Delete Pages

 

View All Pages

Add Tooltips

Edit Tooltip

Delete Tooltip

 

Access Settings

 

 

 

 

 

Limit Site Access

 

When adding/editing users, you can limit which sites they can access. This option allows you to restrict a user's access to certain sites. 

 

 

Note: By default, a user is allowed to access all sites. To restrict a user from accessing a certain site, click the box next to the desired site (the box will show a checkmark next to the restricted site).

 

 

Was this information helpful?

The page cannot be found

The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable. Please make sure you spelled the page name correctly or use the search box.

add chat to your website